Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Universal Joint Asheville. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Smpalodichuk 4 days ago

Black Bean Burger

Best black bean burgers in the city

Juliancdreyer 21 days ago

Arugula Salad

Best salad dressing ever!!!

Wheatley 24 days ago

Sunset Dip and Salsa

If Robert Frost's prose married Bob Ross' paintings, it'd taste like this. Something close to nature and pure bliss.

Traciehappraiser about 1 month ago

Hummus and Pimiento Plate

UJ is my favorite dining experience in Asheville! It is always a lovely culmination of fresh farm to table deliciousness, an attentive and fun wait staff and a delightful selection of local craft beer and cocktails. The outdoor dining option is awesome. From their famous Universal tots to the fresh trout, UJ has something for everyone. They never disappoint!

Benefieldjackson about 2 months ago

Hummus and Pimiento Plate

This is a great snack to share with friends, especially on a nice sunny day on the patio! Their pimento cheese is awesome!

Coleanna27 about 2 months ago

Universal Fries

great food, great atmosphere, phenomenal ranch, phenomenal service!

Elise 2 months ago

Steinbeck

Oh how I love the Steinbeck Burger at the UJ. Topped with a healthy portion of pimento cheese and jalapenos, this is definitely my go-to burger in West Asheville. Always cooked perfectly and super juicy and the tots on the side are crispy goodness.

Gcwilson4 2 months ago

Black Bean Burger

Mmmmhhhh top it with California (no bacon) and it's about as good as a veggie burger can get!!! Everyone who's worked here has been super chill and always loved the vibes!!!

Lovebird0901 3 months ago

Smoked Trout

The Universal Joint is an Asheville classic. This place never disappoints. It's located in the heart of West Asheville which is the place to be. The service is always on point, and their outside patio is where you'll find me petting all the cute furry friends who come to join for a bite to eat. I have had the pleasure of eating many meals at this fine establishment but recently I had their smoked trout and let me just say it threw me back to memories of sitting at my grandmothers table telling stories of her and my grandfather and their many camping trips together. Smoked trout was her perfected dish and the flavor of the Universal joints trout was spot on. Grab yourself an appetizer of their amazing tator tots and drink a y'all glass of their sweet tea and order the trout. You'll be imagining yourself in the mountains of the Carolinas while sitting in the middle of bustling west Asheville. Don't miss this place. It's certainly a gem.

Kkellyhull 3 months ago

Universal Fries

The Universal Fries were great. I loved the fresh jalapeños and the amazing ranch!

Crystalaroundtheworld 3 months ago

Steinbeck

This has to be one of the best burgers in town!

Melodyjoygreen 3 months ago

Chicken Sandwich

My favorite is to get the chicken sandwich (cravebly good), the black bean burger or sometimes a burger... and UJ it with jalapenos, bacon, cheese, (with blue cheese instead of ranch) yum. It's amazing. The side salad is fresh and delicious and we always get a basket of tater tots. Fresh local beer on tap to drink. The UJ is one of my favorite joints for sure! For years now! I keep going back.

Klemmuh 4 months ago

*Bison Burger

Best Bison East of South Dakota! I would order again!

Thisisfreespace 5 months ago

Black Bean Burger

It isn't easy to find a fast and easy bean burger that is good every time and that even the kids will enjoy. Universal Joint has finally checked this one off the list for this vegetarian family! Order extra Chipotle Mayo with your fries for an extra treat.

Johannahagarty 5 months ago

Universal Fries

Honestly, this has been one of my staple Asheville go-to's for years. Full pint sized mimosas for me, awesome local beer and a full liquor bar for anyone else that comes along. The UJ Fries (or tots) are totally crave-able and you really can't go wrong with any dish on the menu but the Steinbeck and gyro are two personal favs. Plus, the staff always rocks and they've got a nice little patio for kids and dogs. I'm fact, I've just talked myself into eating their for dinner tonight.. where are you?

Mickiehilbert18 5 months ago

*Hamburger

I had the black bean patty melt. By far, it was the most fantastic thing I have had in a long time. The flavors and textures were out of this world - who would miss a hamburger patty when you have all this black bean goodness. You could make me turn vegetarian very easy! Thanks for a great experience both with food and service. You guys ROCK!

Juliancdreyer 21 days ago

Gyro

Solid

Dfontaine475 21 days ago

Blackened Fish Tacos

My wife and moved to W. Asheville in 2017 and UJ's was recommended to us as a favorite haunt for locals. We eat here almost weekly, and love all of the great food and beer choices! It's a great place to hang out and grab a beer while munching on a burger or tacos, and the staff is amazing and super friendly! We especially like Rich (he serves great margaritas) but all of the bar tenders and servers are great!

Jannak71 25 days ago

Cheese Curds

I LOVE these cheese curds! Everything o have tried here has been fantastic. The service is great, the atmosphere is great. Thanks to all of you fir being amazing!!

Corbinjames20 about 2 months ago

Black Bean Burger

Great black bean burger and that is hard to find. I love how every is customizable. Great value and flavor.

Benefieldjackson about 2 months ago

Steinbeck

I love his burger! Possibly my favorite in Asheville. The jalapeños are the perfect touch.

Brandongregory1984 about 2 months ago

Steinbeck

My order for years has been the Spicy Egg Rolls and the Steinbeck burger w/ tots. I've never been disappointed! However, I will deviate if the Fried Chicken Steinbeck is on special. UJ's is a West Asheville staple. Highly recommend!

Alexandralicata94 2 months ago

Steinbeck

Cooked perfectly and full of flavor. 😍

Tomsmom100 3 months ago

Chicken Sandwich

The service, food, and pricing, were all great. I had a delicious chicken sandwich (very flavorful and juicy and not too heavy). My boyfriend had a tasty burger. I know if the food is good by how I feel after a meal, and I had 0 complaints. Thanks for the fresh ingredients and offering the good stuff + a good atmosphere.

Audreydickens2 3 months ago

California

So good no matter which style! Definitely one of my favs!

Seamonegirl15 3 months ago

California

Burger was amazing! Beer was amazing! Environment was incredible! Friendly and attentive staff. I was in and out in about 30 minutes full and happy!

Andiejackson76 3 months ago

Buffalo Chicken Quesadilla

It is very good quesadilla it got good tate to it i would tell every body to try it go to ujs asheville nc

Ncscheff 4 months ago

Firecracker Sliders

I looooove these sliders. They are just spicy enough, just cheesy enough, and they go perfectly with UJ fries.

Dylanmccall730 4 months ago

Blackened Fish Tacos

Love these fish tacos with tots and honey mustard 🧡

Candice 5 months ago

California

Love this place! One of my favorite spots to grab a bite in Asheville!

Laynee3 5 months ago

Hummus and Pimiento Plate

UJ has some of the BEST pimiento cheese, this plate is to dye for! You can easily get it to munch on or as your meal. I sub the hummus for an extra scoop of pimiento!!! Yumm i am getting hungry just thinking about it!!!!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

December:
Coming soon

November:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co., Portland, OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant, Los Angeles, CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA